Nairobi News


BAKE Awards 2017 enters voting phase

Kenyans can now vote for their favourite blogs following the announcement of this year’s nominees for bloggers awards.

The voting process, which was opened on Monday, will close on May 9 this year and will culminate in the awarding of winners at a gala event to be held on May 13th 2017.

Speaking during the launch of the voting process, Bloggers Association of Kenya (BAKE) Chairman Kennedy Kachwanya said over 10,000 blogs were submitted to the judging panel for the 23 categories.

“Judges sifted through over 10,000 blogs that were submitted and picked the best in each category. The overwhelming entries is a clear indication that more people are embracing blogging as a business and in the process creating employment in this country,” he said.


To vote in the BAKE Awards, one will need to visit here. Voting will be limited to one vote per person. SMS vote verification has also been introduced this year.

This year’s awards are being used to rally youth to embrace blogging as a way of creating employment and earning a living.

This year, two new categories have been introduced i.e. Best Lifestyle Blog and Best Human Rights Blog to champion for lifestyle and human rights issues.

The introduction of the two will see the total number of award categories increase to 23.


The categories are sponsored by Ford Motors and the Kenya Human Rights Commission (KHRC) respectively.

Safaricom announced sponsorship of the awards to the tune of Sh3.1 million.

Kui Kinyanjui, head of corporate communications at Safaricom, while announcing the sponsorship said: “We have supported the BAKE Awards from the beginning because we believe in the power of blogging to shape conversations. It is also nice to see the growth of blogging over the years and we are happy to continue to support the industry”.

The other sponsors of the BAKE Awards 2017 are Gates Foundation, EatOut Kenya, The Ford Motor Company, ShowMax, Xpose, Vivienne Taa and The Kenya Human Rights Commission (KHRC).

The full list of nominees can be found here.