Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Big names fail to make Ayimba’s squad for Safari Sevens

By COLLINS NABISWA September 30th, 2015 2 min read

Kenya Sevens head coach Benjamin Ayimba has named his two sides that will take part in this year’s Safari Sevens that is set to take place on Saturday and Sunday at Safaricom Stadium, Kasarani.

However, injuries have knocked out seven players who could have on any given day made the cut for the biggest rugby festivals in the region.

Mwamba RFC quartet of Collins Injera, Dan Sikuta, Dennis Ombachi and Lavin Asego are still on the sick bay recovering from various injuries sustained in different games.

Others who will sit out of the games that start on Saturday morning include Strathmore Leos’ Billy Odhiambo and Tony Owuor.

Homeboyz RFC’s Leoanard Mugaisi and Oscar Ayodi will also watch the games from the clinic alongside Harlequins’ Patrice Agunda. That’s almost a whole starting VII if fit and available.


On the positive note, Andrew Amonde will captain a new look Shujaa side that includes Homeboyz RFC’s Augustine Lugonzo, Jeff Oluoch and Alvin “Buffa” Otieno.

Willy Ambaka makes a comeback to the national team after a two year hiatus in the paid ranks in France and South Africa. Nondies’ Biko Adema and Oscar Dennis and Nakuru’s Philip Kwame are also on the team that includes KCB sweeper Ken Moseti.

Nelson Oyoo, fresh from serving a ban from biting Injera in Mombasa leads a list of debutantes. Other freshmen in the team include Kabras’ Brian Tanga and Quin’s Frank Wanyama.

Meanwhile, Eden Agero will lead Kenya’s second string team Morans. The team includes Mwamba’s Shaban Ahmed, Nakuru’s Don Oluoch, David Kivuti and Geoff Ominde. Others are Bush Mwale, Robert Aringo and Stafford Abeka.


1. Andrew Amonde (Captain)
2. Jeff Oluoch,
3. Oscar Dennis,
4. Nelson Oyoo,
5. Brian Tanga,
6. Augustine Lugonzo,
7. Willy Ambaka,
8. Ken Moseti,
9. Biko Adema,
10. Philip Kwame,
11. Alvin Otieno,
12. Frank Wanyama,


Benjamin Ayimba – Head Coach ,
Newton Ong’alo – Team Manager
Francis Lameck – Physio
Geoffrey Kimani – S&C


1. Eden Agero (Captain),
2. Don Oluoch,
3. Shaban Ahmed,
4. Bush Mwale,
5. David Kivuti,
6. Robert Aringo,
7. Samuel Motari,
8. Tony Onyango,
9. Geoffrey Ominde,
10. Collins Shikoli,
11. Fidel Castro,
12. Stafford Abeka,


Paul Murunga – Head Coach
Erick Ogweno – Team Manager
Antony Maina – Physio
Geoffrey Kimani – S&C