Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Counties to host National Days on rotational basis

December 19th, 2015 1 min read


Two out of Kenya’s three National Days will be hosted on rotational basis by counties outside Nairobi beginning next year.

Nairobi County, which has traditionally hosted the national celebration of the National Days, will be left with only one event per year.

President Uhuru Kenyatta made the announcement on Friday when he hosted Governors at State House, Nairobi, for the 4th National and County Government Summit.

The President said Mombasa and Nakuru have been chosen as the counties that will host the two National Days besides the one that will be hosted by Nairobi County in 2016.

The Council of Governors welcomed the President’s decision to celebrate 2 holidays each year with Kenyans in different counties outside the capital city starting next year.

President Kenyatta said the decision is aimed at boosting national cohesion and integration. The three National Days are Madaraka Day celebrated on June 1, Mashujaa Day celebrated on October 20 and Jamhuri Day celebrated on December 12.

The President made the announcement at the end of the Intergovernmental Summit, which was attended by Deputy President William, Cabinet Secretaries, Governors and other senior government officials.