Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Five Kenyan journalists shortlisted for 2015 CNN awards

Five Kenyans are among 31 finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 Competition which will take place in Nairobi in October.

The five are Enock Sikolia and Charles Kariuki of NTV, Paul Kelemba and Kiundu Waweru of The Standard on Saturday and George Oduor Otieno of Baraka FM.

The finalists for the competition, which is now in its 20th anniversary, were announced Monday by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel.

This year the competition received entries from 39 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking countries.

The 31 finalists are from 15 countries.

The independent judging panel also includes Debo Adesina, Editor-in-Chief, Guardian Newspapers, Nigeria; Nima Elbagir, Senior International Correspondent, CNN; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions ; Fernando Gonçalves, Editor, Savana, Mozambique; Anton Harber, Caxton Professor of Journalism, University of the Witwatersrand; Joel Kibazo, Director of Communications and External Relations, African Development Bank Group; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media; Wanja Njuguna, Senior Lecturer, Polytechnic of Namibia & CNN Journalist of the year 2000; José Sebastião Paulo, Professor of Journalism, University Agostinho Neto, Angola; and, David Ohito, Digital Editor, The Standard Media Group, Kenya.