Nairobi News

HashtagNewsWhat's Hot

Holiday loading: Details of William Ruto’s swearing-in ceremony

By Nyaboga Kiage September 6th, 2022 2 min read

Full details of how President-Elect William Ruto’s swearing-in ceremony will be run have been revealed by the Assumption of Office Committee.

The committee, which is chaired by Mr Joseph Kinyua, on Tuesday said the swearing-in ceremony will take place on September 13, 2022.

“We would like to inform the nation that the swearing-in ceremony will be held on September 13, at the Moi International Sports Center, Kasarani. The day will be a public holiday and a formal gazette notice will be issued later on in the week,” Mr Kinyua told the media at Harambee House.

Also read: Don’t revenge on those who didn’t support you – Ruto’s mom advises

The swearing-in ceremony of the President-elect will take place between 10am and 2pm and it will then be followed by that of the Deputy President-elect Mr Rigathi Gachagua.

This comes just a day after the Supreme Court of Kenya upheld Dr Ruto’s election victory.

Initially, Dr Ruto, who has served as the Deputy President of Kenya since 2013, could have been sworn in on August 29, 2022 but that did not happen after his main opponent Raila Odinga moved to court challenging his win.

Also read: Obama’s brother congratulates Ruto but shades the ex-US president

According to Article 141 of the Constitution, the President-elect should be sworn in 14 days after the declaration of results by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

“The President-elect shall be sworn in on the fourteenth day after the date of the declaration of the result of the presidential election if no petition has been filed under Article 140,” the article states.

Also read: Alaar! Atwoli denies saying Ruto will never be president, explains himself

“The President-elect- shall be sworn in on the seventh day following the date on which the court renders a decision declaring the election to be valid if any petition has been filed under Article 140.

Outgoing President Uhuru Kenyatta, who supported and campaigned for Mr Odinga, on Monday assured Kenyans of a smooth transfer of power.

According to the results announced by IEBC chairperson, Mr Wafula Chebukati, Dr Ruto garnered 7,176,141 votes against Mr Odinga’s 6,942,930 votes.

Also read:

Countdown to President-elect William Ruto’s Ksh 200m inauguration

‘Naomba kazi! I’m ready to serve,’ Justina Wamae tells Ruto

Martha Karua denies conceding defeat