Nairobi News

Must ReadWhat's Hot

How Sakaja missed Council of Governors post

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja has explained why his name was missing from the list of the new leadership at the Council of Governors (CoG).

His remarks come hours after the CoG concluded its full Council Meeting in which elections were held for the Executive and Technical Committee Chairs.

In the previous leadership, Governor Sakaja served as Human Resource, Labour and Social Welfare Committee chairperson, a position which has been handed over to Nyeri Governor, Mutahi Kahiga.

“Meanwhile, I opted not to defend my position on the HR committee at COG this year so that I focus on this work. Wish Gov. Mutahi all the best,” Governor Sakaja said.

Also read: Remembering Reginah Katar: Tedd Josiah’s healing journey six years on

This indicates the governor has resolved to dedicate his time to delivering his promises to the people who voted for him in the 2022 election.

The county boss recently launched the school feeding program which targets over 250,000 students in public schools.

The program has however received opposition from various quarters, including former county officials, Embakasi East lawmaker Babu Owino, and a section of Members of the County Assembly (MCA).

This is after the county failed to roll out the second phase of the feeding program as earlier communicated.

In a related development, Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru has been elected for a second term as the CoG chairperson, and Wajir Governor Ahmed Abdullahi as Vice-Chairperson.

Nandi Governor Stephen Sang retained his position as the Whip.

In other changes, Machakos Governor Wavinya Ndeti lost her position as the Trade, Industry, Manufacturing, and Enterprise Development Committee chairperson, which is now held by her Nakuru counterpart, Susan Kihika.

Baringo Governor Benjamin Cheboi is the Council’s committee chairperson of the Security and Foreign Affairs Committee, replacing Tana River governor Dhadho Godhana.

Embu Governor Cecily Mbarire will head the council’s Resource Mobilization Committee, Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Wisely Rotich to head the ICT and Knowledge Management Committee while the Legal, Constitutional Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations Committee will be chaired by Makueni Governor Mutula Kilonzo JR.

The land, Housing and Urban Development Committee docket will be under Kisumu Governor Professor Anyang’ Nyong’o, Energy, Transport and Infrastructure Committee is under Kiambu Governor Kimani Wamatangi, Gender, Youth, Culture, Sports and Social Services Committee to be headed by West Pokot Governor Simon Kachapin, as Health Committee remains under Tharaka Nithi governor Muthomi Njuki.