Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Kenya Rugby Sevens squad for Wellington and Sydney tourneys named

By ISAAC SWILA January 18th, 2017 2 min read

Kenya Rugby Sevens coach Innocent Simiyu has opted for experience in a strong 13-man squad for the Wellington and Sydney Sevens legs of the IRB World Series.

Andrew Amonde will skipper the team while Oscar Ouma, Sammy Oliech, Bush Mwale, Eden Agero and all time try top scorer Collins Injera makes their first appearance this season.

Briefing reporters in Nairobi on Wednesday after naming his squad, Simiyu said the return of Injera and Ouma will restore the experience and leadership needed in the team.

“Our team selection was guided by the players’ conditions and past performance and I believe we’ve picked the best. Our key goal is to address our game management and kicking,” he said. “Experience has been key to us and Oscar and Collins will bring leadership.”


Burly skipper Amonde also lauded Injera’s return: “Collins is a very brilliant player and it’s great to have him back. Everything has been perfect from training and payments and I believe we will do well. The squad is full of experience especially with Injera coming back, it means he’s fit and ready.”

Team manager Erick Ogweno said: “There is a provision this season to field a 13th player and it’s for this reason that we have named 13 players.”

Kenya has been drawn in a tough Pool A in Wellington alongside Cape Town Sevens winners England, Argentina and invitational side Papua New Guinea. The tournament will played on January 28th and 29th.

The Kenyan team is set to jet out for Wellington on Sunday at 10am aboard an Emirates flight.

Full Squad: Andrew Amonde (captain), Willy Ambaka, Oscar Ouma, Dan Sikuta, Bush Mwale, Brian Tanga, Leonard Mugaisi, Eden Agero, Augustine Lugonzo, Sammy Oliech, Billy Odhiambo, Collins Injera, Nelson Oyoo.

Officials: Innocent Simiyu (head coach), Ian Gibbons (Strength and Conditioning), Lameck Bogonkp (Physio), Erick Ogweno (team manager)