Nairobi News

ChillaxGeneralMust ReadNewsWhat's Hot

‘Kuna Kuna’ among Lupita Nyong’o’s top songs of 2023 playlist

Kenyan Hollywood sensation Lupita Nyong’o has kicked off the year 2024 in style by sharing her curated playlist of favorite songs, aptly named the ‘Vibes for 2024 Playlist.’

The Oscar-winning actress, known for her roles in iconic films like Black Panther, released the list of tunes that she envisions will set the tone for her year.

Expressing her passion for music, the 40-year-old star unveiled a mix of diverse tracks that reflect her eclectic taste.

One standout inclusion is the popular Kenyan club hit ‘Kuna Kuna’ by Vic West, Fathermoh, and Brandy Maina, showcasing Lupita’s connection to her Kenyan roots.

Also read: Sherehe-Master-In-Chief: Meet Kenya’s favourite ‘Kuna Kuna’ dancing mubaba

In a statement accompanying the playlist release, Lupita described the chosen songs as the vibes she is “manifesting for 2024.”

The carefully selected tracks provide a glimpse into the actress’s musical preferences as she embraces the new year.

Among the notable entries, Lupita included ‘Enjoy’ by Jux and Diamond Platnumz, bringing a touch of East African flavor to her playlist.

Another international track on the list is ‘Nueva Vida’ by Peso Pluma, adding a global dimension to the collection.

The ‘Vibes for 2024 Playlist’ features a mix of well-known and lesser-known tracks, with Lupita highlighting ‘This Year’ by Emily King, ‘Good Morning’ by PJ Morton, ‘It’s so Easy’ by Margo & Mac, and ‘Next to Normal’ by Lucius.

Other noteworthy additions include ‘Degg Gui’ by Cheikh Lo, ‘By Design’ by Jacob Banks, and ‘Doing My Best’ by Tank and the Bangas, showcasing Lupita’s appreciation for various genres and artists.

In December, the former President of the United States, Barack Obama, also revealed the playlist of songs he had been enjoying throughout 2023.

  • “I Remember Everything,” by Zach Bryan feat. Kacey Musgraves
  • “Sprinter” by Dave and Central Cee
  • “Since I Have a Lover” 6LACK
  • “Cobra” by Megan Thee Stallion
  • “Joiner” by Blondshell
  • “Midnight Gospel” by Alé Araya feat. Joseph Chilliams
  • “America Has a Problem” by Beyoncé featuring Kendrick Lamar
  • “Water” by Tyla
  • “The Returner” by Allison Russell
  • “Unavailable” by Davido feat. Musa Keys
  • “My Love Mine All Mine,” by Mitski
  • “Sittin’ on Top of the World” by Burna Boy feat. 21 Savage
  • “Vampire Empire” by Big Thief
  • “Younger & Dumber” by Indigo De Souza
  • “Toxic Trait” by Stormzy feat. Fredo
  • “Where You Are” by John Summit and Hayla
  • “La Bebe (Remix)” by Yng Lvcas and Peso Pluma
  • “On My Mama” by Victoria Monét
  • “Cast Iron Skillet” by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • “WY@” by Brent Faiyaz
  • “Amapiano” by Asake and Olamide
  • “Lose Control” by Teddy Swims
  • “Crazy Love” by Rita Wilson and Keith Urban
  • “Drink the River” by Gabe Lee
  • “Road to Freedom” by Lenny Kravitz
  • “It Never Went Away” by Jon Batiste
  • “Me & U” by Tems