Nairobi News

HustleMust ReadNews

Lawyers Ahmednasir, Ombeta discredit shortlisted candidates for CAS positions

The list of 224 candidates shortlisted for the positions of Chief Administrative Secretaries (CAS) in the government of President William Ruto has attracted varying reactions from Kenyans.

Several of those in the shortlist published by the Public Service Commission (PSC) are politicians who lost in last year’s General Election, while others are the close allies of the President and his deputy Rigathi Gachagua.

while some are those who served in different sectors before.

Renowned lawyer Ahmednasir Abdullahi, who has been a defender of President Ruto since the campaigns, has publicly criticized the list of shortlisted candidates, saying it comprises of the same people who have held various public offices in the past.

Also read: Explainer – What it entails being a Chief Administrative Secretary

His sentiments were echoed by another city lawyer Cliff Ombeta who said the real hustlers have been left out again in government’s appointments.

“The issues we promised in our campaign will never happen,” Mr Ombeta said.

The lawyer unsuccessfully ran for the Bonchari Constituency seat in Kisii County on United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket.

Also read: You reap what you sow, Senator Cherargei backs Ruto for rewarding loyalists

The criminal lawyer had earlier on stated that he would not be among the shortlisted candidates for the position, saying that it was unconstitutional.

Among the shortlisted candidates are former Kisii Governor Dr James Ong’wae, Bishop Margaret Wanjiru of Jesus Is Alive Ministries, former Nairobi Governor Dr Evans Kidero who lost his bid in Homa Bay in the last election, Dennis Itumbi, former Laikipia Woman Representative Mrs Catherine Waruguru, former Kirinyaga Woman Rep Purity Ngirici, former Soy constituency MP Caleb Kositany and Former Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala.

Other notable names are John Muruttu, Wilson Sossion, James Ong’wae (former Kisii governor), Purity Ngirici, Fred Gumo, Joash Maangi and Isaack Mwaura.

In the last administration of retired President Uhuru Kenyatta, there were 25 Cabinet Administrative Secretaries who served in 21 ministries.

Also read: Rewarding loyalties: Itumbi, Mariga, Malala shortlisted for CAS jobs