Nairobi News

ChillaxWhat's Hot

Mama Kayai dedicates Kalasha award to Mzee Ojwang

Legendary TV comedian Mary Khavere aka Mama Kayai was among the big winners during the 6th Kalasha Awards that were held on Friday night at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre, Nairobi.

For her great performance spanning decades, Khavere was rewarded with the Lifetime Achievement Award which she dedicated to her late on screen ‘husband’ Mzee Ojwang Hatari (real name Benson Wanjau) who passed on in July this year.

Broadcasters were faulted for not dedicating more time to local productions as the Ministry’s Award was not given out to any television station.

However, NTV bagged two awards with Discovery 254’s Sarah Hassan and Charles Ouda being voted the best hosts in a TV show.

NTV’s drama series Pendo scooped the best lead actress in TV with Riziki Ambrose who acts as Sita emerging top.

Below is the full list of winners:

Best lead actor in film – Felix Warutere – Switch

Best lead actress in film – Vivian Wambui – No Behaviour

Best supporting actor in film – Charles Karumi – Fundimentals

Best sound designer – Brian Munene of Kibanda Pictures

Best original score – Hear me move

Best editor – Peter Gitau

Best lighting technician – Sarikah Hemic – Veve

Best special effects – David Otieno Angula

Best original screen play – Hear me move 

Best feature – Veve

Best director of photography – Likarion Wainaina

Best documentary – The Last Fight

Best short film – The Cleansing

Best director – Simon – Veve

Best local language film – Moskode 

TV category

Best lead actor in TV – Kevin Maina – Groove Theory

Best lead actress in TV – Riziki Ambrose – Pendo

Best performance in TV comedy – Khaleed Andul – Classmates

Best host in TV show – Sarah Hassan and Charles Ouda – Discovery 254

Best TV documentary – Unity Dow story 

Best TV comedy – Hapakule News 

Best TV drama – Groove Theory 

Special awards category 

Best feature by a student – My Son’s Salvation

Best documentary by a student – Oborogi

Best diaspora production – Code of Silence

Best animation production – The Migrant Business 

Best feature in East Africa – The Queen of Maasai – Tanzania

Lifetime achievement award – Mary Khavere (Mama Kayai )