Nairobi News

HustleMust ReadNews

Mzee Odungi Randa installed as Luo Council of Elders chair

Mzee Odungi Randa, a f0rmer aide of the late Jaramogi Oginga Odinga, has been installed the new Chairman of Luo Council of Elders.

The 84-year-old, who was the late Opposition politician’s aide until his demise in January 1994, takes over the position from Willis Otondi who died on February 17, 2023 at the age of 98.

Randa hails from Kisumu West but lives in Nyando. Other elders who were eying the seat include Mzee Adera Osawa, 76, who is the current Secretary General of Luo Council and Mzee Owino Nyadi who is the Executive Director of the council.

Mzee Randa’s victory was announced during the Piny Luo celebrations which began on Thursday in Homa Bay County.

Also read: Nuhu Bakari – Why I composed poem in praise of Okiya Omtatah

Azimio la Umoja – One Kenya Coalition leader Raila Odinga is among the prominent leaders who graced the occasion.

Odinga led the Luo community consisting of elders, religious leaders, businessmen, political leaders and stakeholders across the region to the annual event disregarding a court order stopping the much-publicized cultural event.

Also present were governors Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay), James Orengo (Siaya) and Ochilo Ayacko (Migori).

Before the event, nine petitioners – Nyandiko Ongadi, Thomas Achando, Silas Olala, Okeyo Abebe, Oduogo Gwena, Margaret Nyambok, Felix Okal, Pius Odote and Stephen Oludhe – filed a petition to bar the festival from taking place.

Also read: Renowned playwright, poet Prof Micere Mugo dies at 81

The petitioners sued the counties and governors from the Nyanza region with Orengo being named first respondent, Kisumu’s Anyang Nyong’o as the second respondent, Wanga as the third respondent and Ayacko being named the fourth respondent.

The split in the Council has threatened to destablise the Luo nation which considers the elders league as a symbol of unity.

According to history, the late Odinga was the first chairman of the council before he resigned in 1957 to venture into politics. He was later succeeded by Joel Omer, who would later be succeeded by Paul Mboya. Koyo Pien and Riaga Ogallo subsequently led the council.

Also read: Explainer – Marriage made easier through e-Citizen portal