Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Ndathi concedes defeat as Waiguru, Gitari in tight Kirinyaga race

Results in three of the four constituencies show that Kirinyaga Central MP Joseph Gitari is leading after garnering 37,632 votes. Former Devolution CS Waiguru is second with 33,233 while Governor Joseph Ndathi is a distant third with 6,217 votes.

The three are Ndia, Gichugu and Kirinyaga Central. Results for Mwea, which is the biggest and most populous constituency, are not in as they are still counting. Mwea started voting at 4pm on Monday and the results will be announced in a few hours.

Mr Gitari’s biggest leap came from his Kirinyaga Central constituency where he garnered 29,669 votes. Consequently, Governor Ndathi has conceded defeat but blamed a shambolic process for his defeat.


In the Senate race, Charles Kibiru led in Ndia with 11,182 followed by Daniel Karaba with 8,973.

Harrison Gichira managed 5,429 votes while James Karimi got 1,681. Joseph Mwaniki trailed in Ndia with 1,318 votes.

In the Women Representative race, Wangui Ngirici carried the day in the constituency with 26,328 votes. Anne Wangeci was a distant second with 2,697 while Winnie Karimi got the support of 2,194 voters. Ms Rose Muguchu managed a partly 373 votes.

Below are the results so far in the gubernatorial race:

Kirinyaga Central Constituency

Anne Waiguru – 8,217

Joseph Ndathi – 2,476

Gachoki Gitari – 29,669

Eliud Wanjau – 533

Gichugu Constituency

Anne Waiguru – 7,834

Joseph Ndathi – 1,353

Gachoki Gitari – 365

Eliud Wanjau – 99

Ndia constituency

Anne Waiguru – 17,182

Joseph Ndathi – 2,387

Eliud Wanjau – 2,075

Gachoki Gitari – 7,606