Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Nominees for football awards named

Kenya Premier League has released a list of nominees for the Footballer of the Year Awards (Foya) set for later this month.

The various awards include, Goalkeeper of the year, Defender of the year, Midfielder of the year, Fair play player of the year, Coach of the year, New young player of the year, Best player and Team Manager of the year.

Defending champions Gor Mahia have three players nominated for various awards, captain and goal keeper Jermey Onyango (goalkeeper of the year), George Owino (defender of the year) and Dan Sserenkuma (best player).

The trio was instrumental in K’Ogalo’s successful campaign, but it is Onyango who is heavily tipped to bag the golden glove which has eluded him for the last three seasons.

Their coach Bob Williamson has however been left out of the list of nominees for the Coach of the Year Award.

The Best Player’s award will be the most closely contested category with Sserunkuma, who won the award last year, and AFC Leopards striker Allan Wanga the clear favourites.

Wanga wound up the season as Ingwe’s most prolific striker netting 11 goals this season, a strike rate that was only bettered by Jacob Keli of KCB (17 goals) and Tusker’s Jesse Were (15 goals).

Keli could be the surprise winner after finishing as the top scorer in the league.

The awards are set for November 20 at the Safari Park hotel.


Goalkeeper of the year: Wycliffe Kasaya (Sony Sugar), Sammy Okinda (KCB), Jerim Onyango (Gor Mahia), Wilson Obungu (Bandari), Duncan Ochieng’ (Sofapaka).

Defender of the year: Felly Mulumba (Sofapaka), Mohammed Sherrif (Bandari), John Odhiambo (KCB), David Mwangi (Mathare United) and David Owino (Gor Mahia).

Fair Play player of the year: Dennis Onkangi (Western Stima), James Situma (Sofapaka), Oliver Ruto (Mathare), Shaban Kenga (Bandari), Sammy Okinda (KCB).

Coach of the year: David Ouma (Sofapaka), John Kamau (Thika United), Twahhir Muhhidin (Bandari FC), Abdallah Juma (KCB), Robert Matano (Tusker).

Midfielder of the year: Brian Osumba (KCB), Shaban Kenga (Bandari), Paul Were (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata, (Thika United), Peter Opiyo (AFC Leopards).

New young player of the year: Patillah Omotto (AFC Leopards), Moses Mudavadi (Homeboyz), Stephen Wakhanya (Chemelil Sugar), Sammy Meja (Thika United), Michael Olunga (Tusker FC).

Best player of the year: Allan Wanga (AFC Leopards), Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia), Jacob Keli (KCB), Shaban Kenga (Bandari), David Owino (Gor Mahia).

Team manager of the year: Dan Omondi (Karuturi Sports), Josphat Okal (KCB), Alfred Achayo (Bandari), Tom Ochong (Chemelil Sugar) and Moses Nyalik (Western Stima).