Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Six police officers who pocketed Sh36k bribe from motorists charged in court

Six police officers attached to the Traffic Department were on Friday charged with receiving more than Sh36,000 as bribe from motorists within Murang’a and Nairobi Counties last month.

The six who were arraigned before Milimani Law Courts anti-graft court senior principal magistrate Mr Lawrence Mugambi are Inspector Seth Nalyanya Barasa, Corporal Caroline Chelangat and Police Constables Evanson Mureithi Munyaka, Abdi Khalif Madobe, Shadrack Ngatia Kioni and David Maina.

Inspector Barasa and Constable Munyaka denied that they were arrested by the officers from the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) with Sh20,500 at Mukeu area within Makuyu along the Kenol-Thika Road.

The two, who are attached to Makuyu Police Station, are suspected to have received the money from motorists as bribes not to have them charged for flouting various traffic offences.

The prosecution led by assistant director of public prosecutions Mr Daniel Karori submitted that the two suspects used their offices and positions to improperly confer a benefit to themselves.


Constables Madobe and Kioni from the same station were arrested with Sh 14,300 by the EACC officers at Mukeu along Thika- Kenol Road while Inspector Barasa and Constables Kioni, Munyaka and Madobe were arrested on January 27, 2017.

Corporal Chelangat, who is attached to Makongeni Police Station, was arrested on November 18, 2016 with Sh900 that he supposedly received as bribe. She was arrested at the City Stadium roundabout.

Constable Maina was arrested on November 18, 2016 with Sh1,600 at the City Stadium roundabout, along Muthurwa Road.

In the same case, a matatu conductor Ms Susan Muthoni denied offering a bribe of Sh1,600 to avoid being charged with a traffic offence.

Mr Mugambi granted bail for four of the accused and ordered them to pay cash bails of Sh60,000 each while the other two were ordered to pay cash bails of Sh30,000 each. Their trials commence on March 23, 2017.