Nairobi News

LifeMust ReadNewsWhat's Hot

Political unicorns: 6 Uhuru era PSs that were retained by President Ruto

By Mercy Simiyu November 3rd, 2022 2 min read

President William Ruto President forwarded a list of 51 people to the National Assembly whom he nominated for the position of Principal Secretaries for approval

However, among them are six Ps who worked in former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s government took a pass.

Belio Kipsang, who last served as PS in charge of Regional and Northern Corridor Development, has returned to the Ministry of Education as Ruto named him PS for Basic Education.

Also read:  Gospel artist Mary Lincoln speaks after her naughty photos leaked 

Julius Korir previously served as the Devolution PS in Uhuru’s administration and has been listed as the PS for the State Department for Cabinet Affairs.

Charles Hinga has been retained as the PS in State Department for Housing and Urban Development.

Peter Tum, the current PS State for Department for Labour, was named PS for Medical Services.

The president also retained Harry Kimutai as the State Department for Livestock Development PS.

Chris Kiptoo, the current Principal Secretary for the Ministry of Environment and Forestry, has been named the new National Treasury PS.

Also read: 4 Celebrity pastors and their scandals

Patrick Mariro has been appointed for Defence, Lawyer Korir Sing’oei for the State Department for Foreign Affairs and Roseline Njogu for the State Department for Diaspora Affiars and Former Nairobi Governor Jonathan Mueke (Sports).

Other notable names in the list include Teresia Mbaika Malokwe for the State Department for Devolution and Esther Ngero – State Department for Performance and Delivery Management.

Amb. Julius Bitok has been appointed for the State Department for Citizen Services, Dr. Chris Kiptoo for the National Treasury, and James Muhati for the State Department for Economic Planning.

Also read:  5 celebrities Huddah Monroe has attacked 

Aurelia Rono has been listed as PS for the State Department for Parliamentary Affairs, Raymond Omollo for the State Department for Interior and National Administration and Caroline Nyawira Murage for the State Department for Correctional Services.

Amos Gathecha has been listed for the State Department for Public Service while Veronica Mueni Nduva has been appointed for the State Department for Gender and Affirmative Action.

However the president’s appointment has caused mixed reactions after noticing the list failed the ethnic and gender balance test.

In the appointment made on Wednesday, November 2, the president rewarded key political allies who lost in the August 9 election.

Also, read our top stories today:

5 Popular celebrity TikTok couples in Kenya 

TikTok stars: Meet Mummie Francie, the clapback queen

‘I have rent arrears of Sh50,000,’ Vioja Mahakamani’s Lijodi Kokoto faces eviction

Comedian Captain Otoyo speaks out on joining Jalang’o in politics