Nairobi News

Must ReadNews

President Ruto names Principal Secretaries, on the spot for gender balance

President William Ruto appears to be struggling to fulfill his pre-election campaign promise to appoint half of the women to his government.

On Wednesday, President Ruto failed to meet the gender balance threshold in his latest list of Principal Secretaries (PS’s).

The Head of State named 51 PS’s to handle several state departments of which 12 were women, representing 20% of the appointments.

The Kenyan law dictates at least a third, or 33% of all appointments, should be from either gender.

The appointed women include Teresia Mbaika who will serve in the office of the Deputy President and  Esther Ngero who’s been handed the Performance and Delivery management docket in the office of Prime Cabinet Secretary.

Others are Aurelia Rono State (Parliamentary Affairs), Caroline Nyawira (Correctional Services), Roseline Njogu (Diaspora), Veronica Mueni (Gender and Affirmative Action) Josephine Mburu (Health Standards and Professional Management) Esther Thaara (TVET) Beatrice Inyangala (Higher Education and Research), and Susan Mangeni (MSMEs Development).

President Ruto has also named Sylvia Naseya (Wildlife) and Betsy Muthoni (Blue Economy, Fisheries).

A month back, President Ruto named seven women to his 22-team cabinet.

Also read: State rejects plea-bargain for Agnes Tirop murder suspect

Koome, Waiguru, Karua named influential African Women