Nairobi News

Must ReadNews

Raila: I do not recognize Ruto as President

Azimio leader Raila Odinga says he does not recognize William Ruto as the duly elected President of the Republic of Kenya.

Mr Odinga spoke on Monday at a political rally at the Kamukunji grounds in Nairobi.

“We as Azimio reject the 2022 election results,” declared Mr Odinga.

“We cannot and do not recognize the Kenya Kwanza regime and consider the government illegitimate.”

Mr Odinga said he based his declarations on information shared by a yet-to-be-identified whistle-blower who reportedly worked at the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commision (IEBC) during the August 2022 polls.

The whistleblower reportedly has proof that Mr Odinga beat President William Ruto by more than 2 million votes in the August 2022 polls.

The official IEBC results indicate President William Ruto won the elections by 7, 176, 141 votes comprising 5-.5 percent of all votes cast.

Mr Odinga was second with 6,942, 930 comprising 48.8 percent of the total votes.

But Mr Odinga, who lost on his fifth attempt at the presidency in the 2022 polls insists the polls were manipulated in favour of President Ruto.

“I want to thank the inhabitants of the mountain for giving me an insurmountable margin in the election. According to our IEBC whistleblower and from our internal figures, our opponents only beat us in some parts of the Rift Valley,” Mr Odinbga said.

Mr Odinga has also ordered for a forensic audit of all IEBC servers.

The event was also attended by Ms Martha Karua, Mr Odinga’s running mate in the August 2022 polls.

Others are Kalonzo Musyoka, Wycliffe Oparanya, Eugene Wamalwa, Jeremiah Kioni and George Aladwa.

Mr Odinga lost a petition challenging President Ruto’s win at the Supreme Court in August.

Ms Karua has separately said she will petition the Supreme Court ruling at the East African Court of Justice for judicial review.

Also read: Honest men? Dennis Itumbi’s elimination and Rigathi Gachagua’s other controversial claims

EXCLUSIVE: Chirau Mwakwere resigns as Wiper chairperson