Nairobi News

Must ReadNewsWhat's Hot

Ruto among African presidents ferried on buses to Queen Elizabeth’s burial

By Kevin Cheruiyot September 19th, 2022 2 min read

Photos of African leaders being transported on a posh bus provided by the United Kingdom government to attend the burial ceremony of Queen Elizabeth II at Westminster Abbey have emerged online.

The UK government had issued travel guidelines to the heads of states attending the Monday event, where they were asked to park their vehicles at a site in West London.

Due to the VIP travel arrangements, President William Ruto and First Lady Rachel arrived for the event and boarded the coach together with other African leaders.

Also read: Rigathi Gachagua: Why I’m yet to move to the official DP residence

President Samia Suluhu Hassan of Tanzania also boarded the coach.

The move has, however, been heavily criticized by the G7 countries, including the US, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, and Japan.

The G7 diplomats insisted that their leaders must be accorded a VIP reception, including travelling using their vehicles as part of security enforcement to them.

US President Joe Biden is expected to arrive at the event with his full security details using his armoured limousine, which is referred to as The Beast.

Also, the move has been criticized in Africa as it appeared that only leaders from the African continent have followed the guidelines.
Africa is leading in its membership to the Commonwealth with 21 memberships.

Also read: Watch: Corazon Kwamboka and Frankie exchange pleasantries at public event after breakup

The Commonwealth of Nations refers to a political association of 56 member states, the vast majority of which are former territories of the British Empire.

The Commonwealth dates back to the first half of the 20th century with the decolonisation of the British Empire through increased self-governance of its territories.

Apart from Kenya, other Commonwealth Nation members in Africa include Tanzania, Togo, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Seychelles, Botswana, Cameroon, Gabon, Gambia, and Ghana.

Elizabeth II was announced dead on September 8 at the age of 96.

Also read:

DP Gachagua gives details of his meeting with Raila Odinga

‘Immoral’ Nyege Nyege festival draws sold-out crowds

Actor Blessing Lung’aho sounds wedding bells with fiancé Jackie Matubia

CBK publishes approved list of mobile money lending companies