Nairobi News

ChillaxWhat's Hot

Sauti Sol fail to impress at Continental Awards again

Kenya’s favourite band, Sauti Sol, once again failed to win the continent’s heart at the MTV Africa Music Awards in South Africa.

Sauti Sol, consisting of Polycarp Otieno, Savara Mudigi, Willis Austin Chimano and Bien-Aime Baraza, had been nominated for the award of the best group but lost out to Nigerian twins P-Square, who also won the Artistes of the decade Award.

This comes on the heels of Sauti Sol’s loss at the BET Awards last month where they had been nominated for the Best International Act.

Their nomination for MTV Europe Music Awards Worldwide Act failed to translate into a win after their African Act triumph last year.

Acknowledging Nigerian stranglehold on the continent’s music scene, Sauti Sol congratulated the winning duo using one of their lyrics in a photo on their instagram page,

“We are not sad that P-Square won. We are super humbled and honoured to be in same category with @peterpsquare and @rudeboypsquare congratulations to you brothers! E NO EASY OOOH #MTVMAMA2015 #BestGroup.”

Fans on social media attributed Sauti Sol’s loss to the “tyranny of numbers”.
Nigerian artistes won eight of the 17 awards.

Other winners included Nigerian stars Yemi Alade and Davido, Patoranking who took the Best Male and Best Female Awards respectively.

D’Banj, of the ‘Oliver Twist’ fame won the MAMA Evolution award, a new category honouring established artists who have taken African music to new heights.

“Dorobucci” by Mavins was declared the Song of the Year.