Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Shabana, Rangers excluded from 2015 KPL fixtures

Kenyan Premier League limited has excluded newly promoted sides Shabana FC and Posta Rangers from the first tranche of fixtures posted on their website late on Thursday night.

The league governing body have named the two promoted sides Team A and Team B, indicating that they do not recognize the two teams promoted to the top flight league by the Football Kenya Federation late last year.

Addressing this anomaly, KPL CEO Jack Oguda told Nairobi News that the Governing Council will meet on Wednesday next week to follow up on a letter sent to FKF before deciding on the teams to fill up the two slots.

“We have sent a letter to FKF asking them to confirm in writing whether or not they recognize KPL and the Governing Council is awaiting their response before we make a decision of which teams to complete the list,” he said.

KPL recently sent a report to Fifa asking them to investigate Shabana’s irregular promotion to the top flight league.

“If they do not recognize us then it means that we do not know which teams they have promoted. There is an issue with Shabana at Fifa’s table and we cannot include them in the fixtures before getting the necessary guidance,” he said.


KPL had last week faulted FKF for promoting Shabana despite a persisting case before the Independent Disciplinary Committee protesting their promotion, and hinted that they will retain the relegated City Stars and Nakuru All Stars if the current situation persists.

The new season is set to kick off on February 21, meaning that it will get underway slightly later than usual, with the first city derby between AFC Leopards and Gor Mahia slated for Wednesday March 18.

Gor Mahia has been handed a comfortable start and will host Mathare United at City Stadium on Sunday February 22.

They will then visit Sony Sugar at Awendo Green Stadium immediately after honoring their Caf Champions League return leg match against CNaPS of Madagascar.

Last season’s runners up Sofapaka will begin their title campaign with a home match against Ushuru FC at the Machakos County Stadium before taking on Muhoroni FC and Mathare United in the subsequent matches.

Former champions Tusker will face Thika United on the opening day at Thika Stadium, while AFC Leopards will kick off their campaign with an away match against Chemelil Sugar at the Chemelil Sports Complex.

The first leg will end on June 6 with matches pitting AFC Leopards against Sofapaka at the Nyayo National Stadium, while Gor Mahia will be up against Tusker at City Stadium before the league takes a two-week break.