Nairobi News


Anerlisa, Bahati, Abel Mutua big showbiz names battling for Young Entrepreneur Awards

By COLLINS OMULO November 23rd, 2018 2 min read

Young entrepreneurs in the country, including big names in the entertainment industry, are set to gather in Nairobi Wednesday next week for the inaugural Young Entrepreneur Awards 2018.

The awards, currently in the voting phase which will end on Sunday, November 25, will see 32 nominees battle it out in eight different categories during the awarding ceremony which will be held on November 28 in the capital city.

Among the big names in showbiz who have made the nomination list is gospel artiste Kevin Bahati of EMB Records, fellow artiste Anthony Mwangi aka Anto Neo Soul and Abel Mutua – Phil-It- Productions who will go head-to-head for the Entertainment Industry Award.


However, the main focus will be on the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award (male and female categories) from where the overall winners will be picked.

Among the notable nominees in the male category is Expeditions Maasai Safaris team leader Mr Pancras Karema.

Mr Karema has been nominated for his efforts, together with co-founder Lawrence Ndegea, for transforming Expeditions Maasai Safaris, a company founded in 2015, into one of the leading tours and travel company in Kenya.

“At Expeditions Maasai Safaris, we strive to give exemplary service to all our guest regardless of budget. We consider our “customer-first” approach to be our strongest marketing tool and the rest as secondary,” said Mr Karema.

Expeditions Maasai Safaris team leader Mr Pancras Karema in his office. PHOTO | COURTESY
Expeditions Maasai Safaris team leader Mr Pancras Karema in his office. PHOTO | COURTESY


Karema’s company has since been crowned the Social Media Organization of the year 2016 and the Most Social Business in Kenya Biz Yangu Award scooping two awards at the celebrated OLX SOMA AWARDS.

For the overall honours Karema will battle it out with Brian Gacara of Property Reality Company, Eugene Mbugua of Young Rich Television Limited and Meshack Alloys of Sendy for the top award.

Meanwhile, the Young Entrepreneur of the Year female category will see Anerlisa Muigai of Nero Company Ltd face Nancy Amunga (Dana Communications), Lucia Musau (African Elite Group) and Michelle Ntalami (Marini Naturals).

Here is the full list of the nominees.

1. Agripreneur Award
(a) John Kiruthi – Farmers Trend
(b) Rodgers Kirwa – iAgribiz Africa
(c) Peter Ngigi – Remington Africa

2. Services Industry Award
(a) Anyiko Owoko – Anyiko Public Relations
(b) Mumbi Ndung’u – Ibua Africa
(c) Mary Njoki – Glass House PR

3. Fashion and Beauty Award
(a) Ian Mati – Vintara Collections KE
(b) Valentine Nekesa – Nekesa Queens Ltd
(c) Debbie Oyugi – Debbie Oyugi Kids

4. Hospitality Award
(a) Muthuri Kinyamu – Turn Up Travel Global
(b) Stephen Maithya – Stevenchy Photography
(c) Martin Ruga – Deserts Anyone Ltd

5. Entertainment Industry Award
(a) Abel Mutua – Phil-It- Productions
(b) Kevin Bahati – EMB Records
(c) Anthony Mwangi – Anto Neo Soul

6. Manufacturing Awards
(a) Collins K. Rutto – Sun Pride Garments Ltd.
(b) Ruth Mwanzia – Kooler Waters
(c) Mercy Kyallo – Yallo Limited

7. Real Estate Award
(a) Moses Muriithi – Fanaka Real Estate Ltd
(b) Tim Kipchumba – Questworks Limited
(c) Lucas Mwangi – Appropriate Design Ltd

8. Digital Technology Award
(a) Samuel Majani – Ghafla
(b) George Magunga –
(c) Mark Kaigwa – Nendo

9. Young Entrepreneur of the Year – Male
(a) Brian Gacari – Property Reality Company
(b) Eugene Mbugua – Young Rich Television Ltd
(c) Pancras Karema – Expeditions Maasai Safaris
(d) Meshack alloys – Sendy

10. Young Entrepreneur of the Year – Female
(a) Anerlisa Muigai – Nero Company Ltd
(b) Nancy Amunga – Dana Communications
(c) Lucia Musau – African Elite PR
(d) Michelle Ntalami – Marini Naturals

Additional reporting by Hilary Kimuyu