Nairobi News


The man set to take over at Integrity Centre

By NYABOGA KIAGE November 30th, 2018 1 min read

The Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission has a nominated a new chief executive officer who will take over from the incumbent, Halakhe Waqo.

Mr Twalib Mbarak will take over from Waqo who took office in January 2013.

Mr Waqo is the first CEO of EACC, which replaced the now defunct Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission.

Mr Mbarak is an ex-military who served in the intelligence arm of the Kenya Defence Forces.

His name will be forwarded to the National Assembly for approval.


He beat 13 other candidates who were interested in the job including Mr Michael Mubea who is the deputy EACC CEO.

Other shortlisted candidates include Sarah Kilemi, National Police Service Commission board official Murshid Mohamed, Lucy Wanja, Joel Mabonga, Cyrus Oguna, Reuben Chirchir, Chege Thenya and Vincent Omari. Others are James Warui and Jillo Kasse.

EACC CEOs serve one non-renewable term of six years.

Qualifications for the post include a post-graduate degree from a recognised university, and clearance certificates from the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) and Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI).