Nairobi News

ChillaxWhat's Hot

Timeless Noel reigns supreme at Groove Awards with five awards – PHOTOS

Upcoming singer Timeless Noel was the toast of this year’s Groove Awards show, scooping up five awards including the coveted Song of the Year for his hit “Odi Dance”.

The singer was feted at the star-studded event which took place on Sunday at the Safaricom Stadium, Kasarani.

Noel also walked away with Dance of the Year, Most Downloaded Skiza Tune, Hype man of the Year and Collabo of the Year.

The show, held at the Safaricom Stadium, Kasarani, indoor arena attracted the glitterati in the gospel industry, who were all eager to show case their fashion tastes.

Controversial singer Willy Paul, often bullied online for what people say are shallow lyrics, made his comeback in the awards this year after missing out on the last two editions, winning Music Video of  The Year for his song ‘Jigi jigi’.

Favorite Teen Song Choice Masterpiece.
Favorite Teen Song Choice Masterpiece.

However, to the audience’s surprise, the singer declined the award, handing it over to upcoming artiste Weezdom who was nominated in the same category.

In his acceptance speech Willy Paul said he believed Weezdom deserved the award more than he did as he had worked very hard and produced a better video than his.

Other big winners of the night included the late Angela Chibalonza who was posthumously awarded the Lifetime Award for Outstanding Contribution to the industry.

‘Kuna dawa’ hit maker Esther Wahome received the award on behalf of Chibalonza’s family who skipped the event.

Guardian Angel of the sensational ‘Nadeka’ hit bagged the Artist of the Year Award, as NTV’s Crossover host DJ Mo won the Media Personality of the  Year Award.

Speaking during his acceptance speech, Guardian Angel called upon gospel artistes to produce more music that glorifies God saying Nadeka came to him at his lowest and it became the song that got him the recognition that he had so yearned for years.

Speaking at the event, Groove Awards founder Kevin Mulei said this year’s event was more inclusive in response and had attracted a wider range of stars than previous editions. This was the 13th edition of the event.

“We made a myriad

Artiste of the year Guardian Angel.
Artiste of the year Guardian Angel.

of changes in how we have run the awards previously for more public inclusion and we are so happy that the changes were received very well both by the artists and the public. This is the biggest production in Kenya and by far Africa involving Artists, Dancers, DJs and Top Producers,” he said.

“We are very grateful for the opportunity to shape youth culture positively and are very proud of the work the Gospel artists continue to put in to advance the kingdom business. We are even more proud today to be able to celebrate them, those that took home an award and those that did not alike,” he added.

Among the highlights of the ceremony were throwback show-stopping performances by Mercy Masika, Joyce Omondi, Mercy Wairegi, Pitson, Rebecca Soki amongst others who took to  stage some of Kenyan biggest hits supported by the Groove Band.

Winners in each category were selected based on the number of votes by the public, a two-week long process that began soon after the Groove Nominations Night earlier in the month.

A winner’s concert is slated on July 8, this year 2018 at the Embu Municipal Council Stadium and will see all winners meet their fans to celebrate.

Breakthrough DJ of the year, DJ Terrost.
Breakthrough DJ of the year, DJ Terrost.

Here is the full list of winners:
Artiste of the year – Guardian Angel

Song of the year – Odi Dance

Teen’s song of the year – Chini ya Mwamba by Masterpiece

Breakthrough Artist of the year – Jabidii

Hip Hop song of the year – Cheki Vile by Eko Dyda

Reggae song of the year –  Shoot Satan by Jabidii

Praise & Worship song of the year – Haniachi by Reuben Kigame ft Gloria Muliro

Collabo of the year – Odi Dance by Timeless Noel, Jabidii and Hype Ochi

Music video of the year – Jigi Jigi by Willy Paul

Dance style/song of the year –  Odi Dance by Timeless Noel, Jabidii and Hype Ochi

Media personality of the year – DJ Mo

Hypeman/MC of the year – Timeless Noel

Breakthrough DJ of the year – DJ Terots

Western Counties song of the year – Come to me by Fenny Kerubo

Eastern Counties song of the year- Kiwango Kingi by Wilberforce Musyoka

Rift Valley Counties song of the year – Arusi by Cyrus Koech

Coastal Counties song of the year – Watangoja Sana by Anastacia Mukabwa

Central Counties song of the year – Irema by Shiro wa GP

Outstanding contributor of the industry award – Angela Chibalonza

Songwriter award of the year – Reuben Kigame