Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Uhuru increases number of ministries in cabinet reshuffle

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday reshuffled his cabinet announcing that the changes were necessary for effective service delivery.

He expanded the number of Cabinet Secretaries from 19 to 20.

The new cabinet only has five women, falling short of the constitutional requirement that states that women must make up 33 per cent of all elective and nominative positions.

The President also announced the expansion of state departments from 26 to 41.

“Anti-corruption measures will be implemented through state departments which are headed by Principal Secretaries. A key initiative will be the complete overhaul of procurement departments,” said President Kenyatta.

He also announced that the office of the President will be re-organised and the changes announced in the next two weeks.

The President asked the National Assembly to fast-track the vetting of CSs and PSs to ensure that those nominated to the positions are able to take up the positions as soon as possible.

A good number of the new names in the Principal Secretary dockets are former bosses in the private sector, signaling a major shift from hiring politicians to having corporate bosses on board

The full cabinet list:

1.Lands – Jacob Kaimenyi

2. Mining – Dan Kazungu

3.Environment – Judy Wakhungu

4. Devolution & Planning – Mwangi Kiunjuri

5. Water and Irrigation – Eugene Wamalwa

6. National Treasury – Henry Rotich

7. Sports, Arts & Culture – Hassan Wario

8. Education – Fred Matiangi

9. Transport & Infrastructure – James Macharia

10. Agriculture – Willy Bett

11. Interior – Joseph Nkaissery

12. Foreign Affairs – Amina Mohamed

13. Public Service – Cecily Kariuki

14. Tourism – Najib Balala

15. Energy – Charles Keter

16. Health – Cleopha Mailu

17. Labour & East African Affairs – Phyllis Kandie

18. Defense – Rachael Omamo

19. Industrialization – Adan Mohamed

20. ICT – Joe Mucheru

21. Attorney General – Githu Muigai