Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Uhuru issues ‘executive order’ on his choice for Nairobi Speaker

A meeting in State House between President Uhuru Kenyatta and newly elected Nairobi Jubilee Ward Representatives seems to have put to an end the lobbying for the Speaker’s seat.

At the Saturday meeting, President Kenyatta brooked no debate on his choice for Speaker, issuing what sources declared to be an “executive order” on the candidate.

The Ward Representatives were told that former nominated Senator Beatrice Elachi will be Jubilee’s candidate for the seat and were ordered to marshal their majority in the assembly “to get the job done”.

Speaking to Nairobi News, Roysambu MCA Peter Warutere said the choice of Ms Elachi was an “executive order” which they all agreed to heed.


“We had a meeting with the President Uhuru Kenyatta where we chose our leaders ahead of starting house business. We are happy with the choices we made,” said Mr Warutere.

Ms Elachi will be deputized by Kamangu Nyumu (Ruai).

Other positions agreed at the meeting are the Majority Leader seat to be taken by Matopeni MCA Abdi Guyo Hussein who was Minority Leader in the last assembly, while Mwaura Chege (Ngara) will take the Majority Whip slot.

The Speaker’s panel will include Mark Ndungu (Maringo/Hamza), Cyrus Mathara (Dandora 2) and Patricia Mutheu (Mlango Kubwa).


Nasa Ward Representatives also held a caucus meeting over the weekend where they agreed to front George Wainaina, the Chief of Staff of former governor Evans Kidero, as their candidate for the Speaker’s seat.

The seat of Minority Leader is a contest between Baba Dogo MCA and former City Mayor Godfrey Majiwa and former Majority Leader Elias Otieno of Kileleshwa ward..

Other’s eyeing the Speaker seat race include incumbent Alex ole Magelo, Former Makadara MP Bernard Mutura, Former Nairobi Women’s Representative aspirant Rachel Shebesh and Karen Nyamu, deputy Speaker Ken Ngondi, County Public Service Board Vice Chairperson Vesca Kangongo, outgoing Karura MCA Kamau Thuo, former nominated MCA Mohammed Abdi and businessman Abbas Khalif.