Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Waihenya Ndirangu wins Roysambu Jubilee nominations

Roysambu MP Waihenya Ndirangu has been declared the winner of the Jubilee repeat nomination held Thursday

Mr Ndirangu garnered 5,926 votes to clinch the Jubilee ticket.

His closest competitor Mr Lee Muchiri got 2,104 votes.

Mr Ndirangu’s supporters burst into song and dance after the Returning Officer announced the final tally at around midnight.

The Political Parties Disputes Tribunal on Wednesday ordered the repeat nominations for Roysambu Constituency after the first one was found not to have been free and fair.

Mr Ndirangu had insisted that he won in the first primary poll that was nullified.

But the tribunal heard that the Returning Officer in the nomination disowned the whole process and fled, fearing for his life.

He reported his fears at Kasarani Police Station.

Now Mr Ndirangu will fly the Jubilee ticket in the August 8 elections.