Nairobi News


Why Senator Fakii is unhappy with Governor Nassir’s cabinet appointments

By Nyaboga Kiage January 19th, 2023 2 min read

Mombasa Senator Mohamed Fakii has harshly criticized Governor Abdulswamad Nassir for the appointments he made in his cabinet.

In a statement, the Senator said the list did not reflect a clear regional balance of the whole of Mombasa County as some places were left out.

“Your Excellency, allow me first to congratulate on the nomination of County Executive Committee (CEC) members of our beloved county. Although, it has been made belatedly, at least we are now on the right path,” said the Senator who is serving his second term.

The Senator said that there were six Sub counties in Mombasa but some did not have any representative in his cabinet.

Senator Fakii said the Governor, who is serving his first term, should remember that he was voted in by voters from all the six constituencies.

According to the senator, the cabinet lacked representatives from the Sub-counties of Changamwe, Jomvu and Kisauni.

Also read: Terence Creative praises Milly Chebby for staying true to him before he became famous

“In order to avert the eminent fall out, I would kindly ask you to reconsider the nomination and provide one that takes into consideration the interests of all sub-counties,” Senator Fakii further said.

Three days ago, Nairobi News exclusively reported that three former County Executive who served under the leadership of former Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho were shortlisted to serve in the new leadership but they did not make it to the final list.

This is despite the fact that the newly elected Mombasa Governor is a known ally to Mr Hassan Joho who played a big role to ensure that he wins the seat.

The three who did not make the final list despite being fronted by the ex-governor include are Tawfiq Balala former CECM for transport, Fauuz Rashid the immediate former CECM Trade & Tourism and Mariam Mbaruk, former CECM Finance.

Governor Nassir named 10 members of the county executive committee and seven advisors. This followed recommendations from the Recruitment and Selection Panel that interviewed and shortlisted candidates who applied for the advertised positions.

Also read: UDA MCAs accuse governor Johnson Sakaja of ‘more talk, less action’

Mr Francis Thoya was named the CEC for Environment and Solid Waste Management while Dr Swabah Ahmed was picked to lead the health docket. Mr Evans Oanda, was nominated to lead the department of Finance and Economic Planning.

Dr Mbwarali Kame, Mr Daniel Otieno, Ms Emily Achieng and Mr Mohamed Hussein will lead the Education, Transport. Water and Lands departments, respectively.

Others nominees include Kenneth Muigai who will lead the Sports docket, Mr Abdalla Kibibi who will be in-charge of the Blue Economy and Mr Mohamed Osman who will be in charge of the Tourism docket.

Dr Noah Akala was named at the Chief of Staff in Mombasa County.

Among those appointed as advisors to the governor are Mahmoud Noor (Innovation and Digital Transformation), Mohamed Tenge (Political Affairs), Fauziya Karama (Economic Affairs) and Goshi Juma (Youth and Gender Affairs).

If approved, Gilbert Langat, Eucabeth Gesare and Dorcas Mutheu will provide counsel on Port and Maritime Affairs, Cohesion and Integration and Urban Renewal.

Also read: Northern Bypass overtakes Outering Road as deadliest road in Kenya – NTSA