Nairobi News


Ex-Liberia President Sirleaf celebrates Kenya’s women governors

Liberia’s former president, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, lauded female governors sworn into office on Thursday following the August 9, General Election.

In a statement issued on August 26, 2022, Sirleaf, who was Africa’s first elected female president, expressed delight in seeing Kenyan women making history.

“Congratulations to all seven women governors who were sworn in yesterday in Kenya. I am delighted to see Kenyan women make history and set the standard for a more inclusive political scene. I hope the next Kenyan Elections will see an even higher number of women leaders represented,” Sirleaf said.

Sirleaf won the presidency on November 23, 2005, after she defeated Liberian football legend George Weah, who was more popular, by an impressive 59.4 per cent of the vote. She was sworn in on January 16, 2006.

The seven women governors include Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay County), Susan Kihika (Nakuru County), Wavinya Ndeti (Machakos County), Fatuma Achani (Kwale County), Kawira Mwangaza (Meru County), Cecily Mbarire (Embu County) and Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga County).

Also read:

Azimio MCAs: Why we walked out of Sakaja’s swearing-in ceremony

President-elect Ruto lauds women governors

10 Governors flaunt their spouses at swearing-in ceremonies – PHOTOS

This number is an impressive increase from the three female governors elected in the 2017 election. The three were Ms Waiguru, Charity Ngilu (Kitui County) and the late Joyce Laboso (Bomet County). These were the women who beat the odds in a male dominated political scene in vying for the 47 gubernatorial seats in Kenya.

Below are some of the messages these history making governors made or received upon their victories:

“Congratulations to the valiant and inimitable @gladyswanga upon her swearing-in as the Governor of Homabay. Thank you to the people of Homabay for voting for good leadership and for keeping the faith as we wait for the Supreme Court to restore our democracy,” wrote Martha Karua.

“Hearty congratulations to the 7 Women Governors taking the oath of office today. To my sisters Excellencies @gladyswanga, @CecilyMbarire, @Wavinya_Ndeti, @AnneWaiguru, @susankihika, Kawira Mwangaza and @FatumaAchani thank you for cracking the glass ceiling further. Godspeed,” wrote Charity Ngilu.

“Thank you Nakuru, I won’t let you down,” said Kihika upon being sworn into office.

“Indeed there is God in Heaven! Today, as we mark the beginning of #KirinyagaRising & #WiraWarie season 2… may God bless you and God bless Kirinyaga!” said Anne Waiguru.