Nairobi News

Must ReadWhat's Hot

Turkana Governor Jeremiah Lomorukai ditches Raila for Ruto

By Mercy Simiyu October 13th, 2023 2 min read

Turkana Governor Jeremiah Lomorukai is the latest politician to ditch Azimio leader Raila Odinga for President William Ruto.

Speaking on his home turf on October 12, 2023, in the presence of the Head of State, the county boss endorsed President Ruto’s elections ahead of the 2027 presidential elections.

He made the declaration during the opening of the Turkana Cultural and Tourism Festival ‘Tobonglore’ in Lodwar town on October 12, 2023.

Not done, the first-term governor committed to mobilizing six sub-counties in Turkana to rally behind President Ruto’s administration.

“I want to assure you that I will deliver the Turkana vote basket to you. There is no bargain about that. I will deliver for you the six sub-counties,” the governor said.

Also read: Harambee Stars coach Engin Firat ‘not bothered’ by calls to include Omala

EXCLUSIVE: Brown Mauzo to grace Vera Sidika’s ‘homecoming’

” I am elected by Turkana County people. Those who are making threats that the Turkana Governor is working with the President, who told them that is a crime?” he posed.

“I will work with you now and in the future.”

In an apparent endorsement of Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei’s proposal to extend the presidential term limit, Governor Lomorukai said Ruto should govern for 14 years.

The governor’s declaration could be a blow to Mr Odinga who has enjoyed overwhelming support in the region for the past two decades. It comes barely a year after the Ethics and Anti Corruption Commision (EACC) announced it was investigating the county boss academic certificates amid concerns they were not genuine.

Meanwhile, the county boss move to shift allegiance to Ruto at a time when the ODM party is keen to punish perceived rebel members.

In September 2023, the party announced the expulsion of five lawmakers over their dalliance with Ruto’s administration.

ODM party’s National Executive Committee (NEC) said the decision was arrived at following the consideration of a report by the outfit’s disciplinary committee.

The affected members are MPs Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Felix Odiwuor ‘Jalang’o’ (Lang’ata), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), and Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda.

The party accused the members of violating Article 11(1) (e) of the party constitution and Section 14A of the Political Parties Act 2011 by openly associating with and supporting activities of a rival political party and opposing lawful decisions/resolutions made by the party organs.