Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

New faces in as Uhuru announces more cabinet appointments

By STEVEN OMONDI January 26th, 2018 2 min read

President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced new appointments to his second cabinet with key reshuffles and fresh faces in.

In an address to the nation from State House, Nairobi on Friday, President Kenyatta also announced the creation of the position of Chief Administrative Secretary in all ministries.

The president further announced names of those proposed for appointment as Ambassadors and High Commissioners to various embassies and High Commissions.

The cabinet appointments:

1. Ministry of Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs – Margret Kobia

2. Ministry of Devolution and ASAL – Eugene Wamalwa

3. Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade – Monica Juma

4. Ministry of Environment and Forestry – Keriako Tobiko

5. Ministry of Petroleum and Mining – John Munyes

6. Ministry of Land – Farida Karonei

7. Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure – James Macharia

8. Ministry of Information Communication and Technology – Joe Mucheru

9. Ministry of Health – Sicily Kariuki

10. Ministry of Education – Ambassador Amina Mohammed

11. Ministry of Industrialisation and Enterprise Development – Adan Mohammed

12. Ministry of  Sports and Heritage – Rashid Achesa Mohamed

13. Ministry of East Africa Community and Northern Corridor development – Peter Munya

14. Ministry of Labour and Social Protection – Ukur Yattani

15. Ministry of Water and Sanitation – Simon Chelugui

16. Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation – Mwangi Kiunjuri

17. Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government – Fred Matiang’i:

18. Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife – Najib Balala

19. Ministry of National Treasury and  Planning – Henry Rotich

20. Ministry of Defence – Raychelle Omamo

21. Ministry of Energy – Charles Keter

22. Cabinet Secretary without portfolio – Raphael Tuju

Ambassadorial appointments:

1. Judi Wakhungu – Ambassador to France

2. Cleopha Mailu – Ambassador to the UN, Geneva

3. Kiema Kilonzo – High Commissioner to Uganda

4. Dan Kazungu – High Commissioner to Tanzania

5. Phylis Kandie – Ambassador to Belgium and Luxemburg

6. Willy Bett – Ambassador India

7. Lazarus Amayo – Head Kenya’s UN mission in New York City