Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

KCB reap big at Foya awards

KCB forward Jacob Keli was on Wednesday named footballer of the year as the Kenya Premier League feted the season’s best performers at the FOYA Awards ceremony held at Safari Park Hotel.

Keli’s 17 goals also gave him the golden boot, beating Tusker’s Jesse Were whose injury plagued season saw him hit the net 15 times.

Keli’s efforts have seen him make the cut in Adel Amrouche’s Harambee Stars squad at the expense of Were.

Bandari’s Shaban Kenga was named second best player, with Gor Mahia’s David ‘Calabar’ Owino coming in at third.

KCB reaped big on the night with three awards to their name.

Brian Osumba was awarded midfielder of the year, beating Thika United’s Francis Kahata and AFC Leopards Peter ‘Pinchez’ Opiyo who came in second and third respectively.

KCB head coach Abdalla Juma and team manager Josphat Okal also bagged awards in their categories.

Gor Mahia captain Jerim Onyango was awarded the goalkeeper of the year after a stellar performance saw him lead his side to their first Kenya Premier League title in 18 years.

His teammate David ‘Calabar’ Owino was named defender of the year.

Winners of each category took home a sh100,000 cash prize, with the runners up getting sh75,000, and the second runners up getting sh50,000.

Footballer of the year: Jacob Keli (KCB), Shaban Kenga (Bandari), David Owino (Gor Mahia).

Goalkeeper of the year: Jerim Onyango (Gor Mahia), Sammy Okinda (KCB), Wycliffe Kasaya (Sony Sugar)

Defender of the year: David Owino (Gor Mahia), John Odhiambo (KCB), Felly Mulumba (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the year: Brian Osumba (KCB), Francis Kahata (Thika United), Peter Opiyo (AFC Leopards)

Young player of the year: Sammy Meja (Thika United), Michael Olunga (Tusker), Stephen Wakanya (Chemilil)

Top Scorer: Jacob Keli (KCB), Jesse Were (Tusker), Allan Wanga (AFC Leopards)

Team Manager of the year: Josphat Okal

Fairplay team of the year: Western Stima, Sofapaka, Muhoroni Youth

Coach of the year: Abdalla Juma (KCB), Twahir Muhiddin (Bandari), David Ouma (Sofapaka)