Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Kenyan players Wanyama, Were nominated for Caf awards

Harambee Stars duo Victor Wanyama and Jesse Were have been nominated for the Caf African Player of the Year Award.

This award is a brainchild of Africa’s football governing body Caf, and primarily seeks to identify and decorate Africa’s top footballers each year.

Wanyama, who plies his trade at English club Tottenham Hotspur, makes the shortlist alongside 29 other players for the African Player of the Year Award.

The midfielder has been recognized for his outstanding performances for both the national team and his club in England over the past year.

He will battle it out for the top gong alongside the likes of Andre Ayew (Swansea and Ghana), John Obi Mikel (Chelsea and Nigeria), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City and Nigeria), Itumeleng Khune (Orlando Pirates and South Africa) and Mbwana Samatta (Genk and Tanzania).

Meanwhile, Were, 27, who is attached to Zambian league champions Zesco United is in the running for the African based Africa player of the year award. Were has been in sublime form this year.


He is currently second in the top scorers’ chart in the country’s FAZ MTN league with 14 goals, two behind Nkana FCs Walter Bwalywa.

Were, who who was last season’s Kenyan Premier League top scorer, also featured prominently for the club in sn impressive run to the semi-finals of this year’s Caf Africa Champions League, where he scored four goals.

“This recognition has really made me proud of my efforts and I want to specifically recognize my family, alongside the efforts of my coaches at Tusker, Zesco and the national team in helping me get here. I hope to win the award,” Were told Nairobi News.

Were will compete against teammates Idriss Mbombo and Jackson Mwanza (from DRC and Zambia respectively), Ugandan goalkeeper Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainfold Kalaba (TM Mazembe and Zambia) and Chisom Chikatara (Nigeria and Wydad Casablanca).

The list will be whittled down to five players, from where the winning players will be announced and decorated in December.