Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Governor Mutua, six MPs to know their fate in election petition

By NYABOGA KIAGE December 20th, 2018 1 min read

Machakos governor, Dr Alfred Mutua and six Members of Parliaments will know their fate on Friday in court cases challenging their victory during last year’s general elections.

The MPs who have a date with destiny are Embakasi South’s Julius Mwathe, Alfred Keter (Nandi Hills), Chris Karani (Ugenya), Gideon Konchellah (Kilgoris), Mr John Oyioka (Bonchari) and Marsabit Woman Representative Safia Adan.


On July 8, the Court of Appeal quashed Mr Mwathe’s August 2017 election win following an appeal lodged by his rival Irshad Sumra of the ODM party.

In his petition, Mr Sumra blamed the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) for his defeat, saying the returning officer “declared the loser as the winner and the winner the loser.”


Mr Mawathe was declared the winner of the poll after IEBC said he garnered 33,880 against Mr Sumra’s 33,708 votes.

In his petition and appeal, Mr Sumra cited malpractices, irregularities, illegalities and or noncompliance of the law, which he argued had an effect on the results announced.

The court agreed with him that that there was a serious mix-up of votes during counting at some tallying centers.