Nairobi News


Jesse Were, ‘Cheche’ out as Migne names Harambee Stars Afcon squad

Jesse Were and David ‘Cheche’ Ochieng are the notable exclusions from the 30-man provisional 2019 Africa Cup of Nations-bound Harambee Stars squad which was announced.

Head coach Sebastian Migne has stuck with a huge chunk of the players whom he had called upon during the tournament’s qualification stages.

Ochieng rejoined AFC Leopards two months ago to regain fitness after returning to the country from a professional stint in Sweden but he seems to have failed to convince the Frenchman.

Were too misses out despite a rich vein of form in the Zambian league over the past three years but there is space for Christopher Mbamba who plies his trade with Oskarshamns AIK in Sweden.


However, there was one surprise inclusion in the form of Kariobangi Sharks goalkeeper Brian Bwire, who has been selected despite the little game time he has commanded in the Kenyan Premier League this season.

Bwire’s howler also cost the national U23 team qualification to the latter stages of the U23 Africa Cup of Nations and Olympic qualifiers.

Migne explained that the team will stay in Paris for 19 days until June 18, before shifting base to Cairo.

Kenya has been drawn in Group C alongside Algeria, Senegal and Tanzania.

Provisional Squad – Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (St Georges, Ethiopia), Faruok Shikhalo (Bandari), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks) Defenders: Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Aboud Omar (Sepsi Sfântu, Romania), David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Erick Ouma (Vasalund IF, Sweden), Joseph Okumu Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United, Zambia), Eric Johanna (IF Bromma, Sweden), Ismael Gonzales (UD Las Palmas, Spain), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Christopher Mbamba (Oskarshamns AIK, Sweden), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Clifton Miheso (Portugal) Forwards: Paul Were (AFC Leopards), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz), John Avire (Sofapaka), Masud Juma (Libya), Ochieng Ovella (IF Vasalund, Sweden)