Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

More than 50 Nairobi MCAs kicked out by voters during primaries

More than 50 Members of the County Assembly in Nairobi have been showed the door from both Jubilee and ODM during the just concluded party primaries.

The assembly has 85 elected MCAs; 43 from CORD as majority side and 42 from Jubilee.

Residents showed no mercy to the members of the first county assembly in the city, whose tenure was marred with chaos and violence.

Nairobi County assembly hit the headlines for the wrong reasons with fights breaking out anytime a debate failed to favour one side.

The county has had its fair share of fracas since they got into power; the highlight was when a motion to oust Governor Evans Kidero was brought to the assembly and MCAs were involved in fist fights as the mover of the motion Samwel Nyangwara was roughed up .

In 2014, the county assembly proceedings were interrupted as members got into a physical fight during debate to approve names of an ad hoc committee.

Later, the MCAs would fight for office space with the Executive arm in a melee that led the Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph Nkaiserry intervening.

And in August 2016, the opening of the new chambers was disrupted with Cord and Jubilee failing to agree on the guest of honour.

To date, the chambers, although already in use, are yet to be officially unveiled.

ODM majority chief whip Jaffer Kassam and his opponent Mike Gumo have “certificates” to vie for the Parklands Ward seat while Jubilee’s chief whip Hashim Kamau was sent home.

However, ODM’s majority leader Elias Okumu and Jubilee minority leader Abdi Guyo won their respective primaries.

Newcomers Samwel Nyaberi Nyangwara (Viwandani) and Dianah Kapeen (South C) were sent home during nominations.

Reults from three wards -Akuk Maurice Omondi (Nyayo Highrise), Stephen Kamau Thuo (Karura), Daniel Oria Odhiambo (Dandora Area IV)- are contested.

Three other MCAs flexed their muscles for bigger seats in Nairobi.

Mugumoini MCA Alex Ouda Otieno ran for Langata seat whose results were contested; Beatrice Kwamboka of Mountain View vied for Woman representative and lost, while  Kennedy Okeyo Ngondi (Kware) ran for Embakasi South MP and bowed out.

Those handed a lifeline for the August elections are 21 out of the 85 MCAs. The rest either lost or are involved in disputes.

From Jubilee, they include: Peter Muriithi Warutere – Roysambu,  Millicent Wambui Mugadi – Ziwani/Kariokor,  James Mwaura Chege – Ngara, Robert Mbatia – Embakasi West, Kados Paul Muiruri Kiguathi – Mihango,  Charles Thuo Wakarindi – Dandora Area III, Peter Wanyoike Gitau – Dandora Area I, Fredrick Njogu Njoroge – Kawangware, Anthony Kiragu Karanja – Waithaka, Abdi Guyo-Matopeni Ward, Peter Wahinya Kimuhu – Ngando.

ODM’s are Alvin Olando Palapala – Kitisuru, Moses Ogeto Nyangaresi – Kilimani, Elias Otieno Okumu – Kileleshwa,David Njilithia Mberia – Karen,  Maurice Gari Otieno – Nairobi West,Kingsley Wellington Odida – Umoja II,Peter Anyule Imwatok – Makongeni,Clarence Kipkemboi Munga – Kabiro,Obonyo Mike Guoro – Gatina.