Nairobi News


‘Bazokizo’, Size 8 big winners as 2017 Groove Awards nominees unveiled

Hit songs Pale Pale by Size 8 and Bazokizo by Collo are the big winners after the 2017 Groove Awards nominees were unveiled on Tuesday evening at the Chandaria Center, University of Nairobi.

Size 8 bagged three, the highest number of nominations for her song Pale Pale, while Collo (Bazokizo) bagged two nominations same as Kelele Takatifu (Bamba Mbaya).

Size 8 was nominated in the coveted categories of Groove female artist, Groove song of the year and video of the year.

Her controversial song Tiga Wana with Willy Paul who walked out of the auditorium before the announcement the ceremony concluded was missing.

The nominees saw big names in the gospel entertainment attend the unveiling in the hope of having one or two of their songs nominated.

Groove Awards ceremony is held annually in Kenya, and now in Rwanda, as it seeks to promote, expose and celebrate Gospel Artists both in Kenya and East Africa.

The Awards honour outstanding excellence in the gospel music industry with artists in production, television and the various regions in Kenya.

The nominees are:

Groove male artist of the year
Daddy Owen
Eko Dydda
Kris Eeh Baba
Pastor Anthony Musembi
Guardian Angel

Groove female artist
Alice Kimanzi
Evelyn Wanjiru
Mercy Masika
Princess Faridah
Size 8

Groove song of the year
Bamba Mbaya – Kelele
Bazokizo – Collo
Huyu Yesu – Mercy Masika
Kutembea Nawe – Rebecca
Pale Pale – Size 8
Thitima – Kymo & Stigah

Groove Afro-Pop nominees

Bazokizo – Collo
Aina Noma – Kelele Takatifu
Bamba Mbaya – Kelele Takatifu
Bumaye – Magic Mike & Kambua
He Did It – Kris Erroh
Thitima – Kymo & Stigah


New Artist/Group of the year

Ben C

Dar Mjomba



Stonee Jiwe



Radio presenter of the year
Amani Aila – Hope FM
DJ Ruff – Ghetto Radio
Eva Mwalili – Milele FM
Jay Njoroge – Home Boyz
Kerry Kagiri – Kubamba
Tess Libanze – Truth FM

Album of the year

Ambition – Recapp
Matendo – Everlyn Wanjiru
Natamani – Laura Karwirwa
Optimo Worship – Musembi
We Will Rule – Mwanga Band
Wimbo Mpya – Sarah K

Find the rest of the nominations here.