Nairobi News

GeneralMust ReadNewsWhat's Hot

6 counties that will be affected by power blackout

Six counties will, on Thursday, August 31, 2023, be affected by scheduled power interruptions, the Kenya Power has said.

In a statement, Kenya Power said that the blackout will be due to “scheduled maintenance on August 31, 2023.”

Parts of Machakos County will be affected by the power interruptions. The precise areas that will be affected include Rhombus, Bluestone, Suraya, National Concrete Veevee, Aristocrats, Kirinyaga, Mugoya, Garuda, Greatwall Garden Phase 3, St Franciscan Sisters, Whistling Moran’s, Harvest International, Waridi, Pine City and Nova Pioneer School.

Other places also include; Seyani Brothers, Welding Alloys, Alrabia, Riverpark Estate, Graceland Estate, and adjacent customers.

Nakuru County was second on the list, and the specific areas that will be affected by the power blackout include the whole of Olo-Rongai and Mangu.

Other areas include Kwa Gitau, Gitangi, Kaptembwa, Lower Olo-Rongai, Upper Olo-Rongai, Part of Mang’u, Part of Kiamunyi, Part of Ngata and adjacent customers.

Elgeyo Marakwet was listed as the third one on the list. The specific areas include Kocholwa and Ruby Quarry.

Also read: Anonymous Sudan suggests involvement in Kenya’s nationwide blackout

More specific areas that will be affected by the blackout include National Youth Service (NYS) Chepsire, Flouspar, Anglican Inland Church (AIC) Rokocho Conference Center and Factory, Cheptebo, Chemurgui, Kamumbas, Biretwo, Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS) Rimoi, Chegilet Market and adjacent customers.

Kisii County will also be affected by the power blackout in specific areas, including Amaiga near Kegati, Parts of Menyingwa Market, Masongo Quarry, Itibo Resort, and adjacent customers.

Parts of Kiambu County will also be affected by the power blackout. The specific areas include Kirigiti, Riabai, Mboi Kamiti, Migaa, St Anne’s Lioki, Karia, Todas Bar, Waironjo, Ngurunga Farm, Kifisha Farm, Nyara, Kianjimbi, Marion School, Shawazi, Gulmerg and adjacent customers.

Still in Kiambu County, Toll Station will also be affected by the scheduled power interruptions. The specific areas that will be affected include; Murera Coffee, Whole of Mugutha, Ruiru Golf Club, Shell Toll Station, Courtesy Beach, Titanic, Green Ridge, and Mugutha Secondary School.

Others are Murera Primary School, Tumaini Catholic Church, Mugutha One Four, Mukuyu Road, Judea Estate, Pentecostal Church of East Africa (PCEA), Mugutha Police, Neema Estate, Riverline Estate, Damridge Estate, Ruera Dam, Makaburi Village, Wakariuki and adjacent customers.

Kilifi County will also be affected by the power interruptions. Areas that will be affected include Likoni, Kilifi, and Sabaki.

Also read: We did not cause the nationwide blackout – Lake Turkana Wind Power clarifies

The specific areas include; Mariakani, Damview, Mkwajuni Applicants, Oasis Hotel, Kadzonzo Secondary School, Sheeriji Chemicals, Mwatsuma Village, Kibao Kiche, Mwananchi Maize Mills and adjacent customers.

Other areas include Malindi Golf, Government of Kenya Malindi Prisons, Kilima Ndogo, Ocean Sports Hotel, Kibokoni, Serengeti, Kalima Poa, SilverSands, Lights Academy, King Fisher, Mtangani, Lamalindina, Red Cross, Den Rock Hotel and adjacent customers.

This set of power interruptions arrives on the heels of a nationwide blackout experienced just five days ago, which plunged the entire country into darkness.

The blackout on Friday evening had significant ramifications, disrupting various businesses and activities, including Jomo Kenyatta International Airport operations.

Kenya Power Company attributed the widespread blackout to a system disturbance, leading to the loss of power supply across multiple regions.

As the scheduled interruptions unfold, residents and businesses within the affected counties are advised to make necessary preparations to minimize any inconveniences caused by the temporary power outages.

Also read: CS Murkomen makes a statement with Sh131K Gucci sneakers after blackout