Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Eight university campuses in Nairobi face closure

Parents and students beware. Eight university satellite campuses located within Nairobi city centre are set to be shut down in the next six months because they do not meet accreditation status stipulated by the Commission for University Education (CUE).

The eight campuses belong to renonwed higher education institutions that are privately and publicly owned.

In an advertisement on national newspapers, the Commission said the eight campuses failed to meet accreditation status, even though they are all operational and are currently offering courses to students.

“Any university operating an unauthorised sattellite campus in Nairobi is in contravention of the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012,” the Commission said in the advert.

The satellite campuses facing closure are

  1.  St Paul’s University campus located along Moi Avenue, Church House.
  2. Egerton University campus in Stanbank House.
  3. Africa Nazarene University campuses in Agrho House and Stanbank House.
  4. South Eastern Kenya University campus in Development house.
  5. Dedan Kimathi University of Technology campuses in Union Towers and Biashara Plaza.
  6. Multi-Media University of Kenya campus located in City Square Post Office Building
  7. Masinde Muliro University campus on Kingsway Building
  8. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology campus in Westlands


The Commission for University Education is mandated to regulate establishment of satellite campuses in the country and has authority to close down any unauthorised institution.

A statement on it’s website on the criteria for accreditation reads: “For any institutions to be accredited, the Commission must be satisfied that the institution concerned has adequate physical, human, library and financial resources, viable relevant academic programmes and sound structure of governance.”

Some of the university satellite campuses in Nairobi that have been fully accredited by the Commission and  safe for learners to enroll include:

  1. Moi University campus at Bazaar Plaza.
  2. Mount Kenya University campuses in Parklands, MKU Towers, Union Towers and Bank Plaza.
  3. Kenyatta University campuses located on Haile Selassie Avenue and Parklands
  4. Laikipia University’s Upper Hill Campus
  5. University of Eastern Africa, Baraton’s extension centre on Ring Road
  6. Pan African Christian University on Valley Road
  7. Kenya Methodist University campuses located in Kemu Towers and along University way


The commission further named three other satellite campuses in Nairobi that have been issued a provisional accreditation. These are KCA University in Monrovia Plaza, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology Karen Campus and Kisii University branch in Corner House.