Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Allan Wanga to lead Kenyan All-Star team against Hull City

By DAVID KWALIMWA November 30th, 2016 2 min read

Harambee Stars forward Allan Wanga is among the senior players who have been named in the All-Star Kenyan team for a friendly match against English Premier League side Hull City in February 2017.

The Tusker FC star player is among 47 players SportPesa Premier League based players selected by the English club’s coaches for this first ever assignment pitting a Kenyan side against an English Premier League team.

The game is set for the KCOM stadium in England.

“The game will offer us a good opportunity to test ourselves against the best talents in the world. It is a feel good factor, I experienced it when we played against (German side) Schalke 04 (during his stint at El Merreikh). I am looking forward to the game,” Wanga told Nairobi News.


The squad will be whittled down to 16 players following a training camp scheduled for January in readiness for the game.

Other senior players in the squad include internationals Mungai Kiongera, John Makwatta, Francis Kahata, Boniface Oluoch and Humphrey Mieno. There is also place in the squad for 16 year old Sony Sugar midfielder Joshua Otieno.

This friendly is part of Hull City’s continued support of shirt sponsor SportPesa’s commitment to develop Kenyan football to global standards, and their efforts to help Kenya qualify for their first ever World Cup in 2022.

SQUAD – Goalkeepers: Patriq Matasi (Posta Rangers), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), David Okello (Tusker) and Gabriel Andika (Western Stima) Defenders: Robinson Kamura (Mathare United), Lloyd Wahome (Tusker FC), James Situma (Tusker FC) Rogers Omondi (Ulinzi Stars), Wesley Onguso (Western Stima), Charles Momanyi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Christopher Oruchum (Thika United), Joackins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia) Midfielders: Humphrey Mieno (Tusker FC), Cersidy Okeyo (Tusker FC), Osborn Monday (Tusker FC), Haron Nyakha (AFC Leopards), Micheal Otieno (Ulinzi Stars), Apollo Otieno (Chemelil Sugar), Edwin Omondi (Chemelil Sugar), Dennis Monda (Muhoroni Youth), Joshua Otieno (Sony Sugar), Ali Bhai (Kakamega Homeboyz), Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers), David King’atua (Bandari), Amos Nondi (Gor Mahia), Eston Esiye (Western Stima) Attackers: Paul Kiongera (AFC Leopards), Eric Johanna (Mathare United), Moses Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Paul Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Anthony Ndolo (Tusker FC) Allan Wanga (Tusker FC) Cliff Kasuti (Ulinzi Stars), John Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars) Hubert Kopany (Western Stima), Brian Marita (Western Stima), Erastus Mwaniki (Chemelil Sugar), Victor Majid (Chemelil Sugar), Samuel Ndungu (Muhoroni Youth), Eugene Mukangula (Thika United), Georson Likonoh (Posta Rangers), Geoffrey Kataka (Posta Rangers), Darius Msagha (Bandari), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia)