Nairobi News

Must ReadWhat's Hot

Church urges Kenyans to consider family planning

Archbishop Jackson Ole Sapit has appealed to the government to consider imposing a limit on the number of children per family in a bid to ‘ease pressure on the economy’.

The cleric disagreed with a section of political leaders who advised Kenyans to have more children.

He stressed the importance of family planning to ease pressure on the economy and increase the number of Kenyans paying tithes and taxes.

“As a country, we have a high number of youthful generations from newborn to university level. They are highly dependent and not productive and the budget goes to maintain this population with the government spending a lot of resources on health and education,” he stated.

The archbishop said although it was in the interest of the political leaders to have more numbers, it was wrong to push Kenyans to have more children amid the economic turmoil.

“I know the Head of State is burning the midnight oil to improve the economy but we must acknowledge that many young people don’t have jobs and the government spends a lot on the youth population. We used to listen to (former minister) Ole Ntimama telling us to have more children and myself. I have seven but I think we should start a crusade telling Kenyans to limit the number of children to 4,” said Ole Sapit.

He made the remarks at the Eldoret ASK show during the celebrations of the Anglican diocese of Eldoret celebrations as the diocese marked 40 years since its inception in the region. President William Ruto was among the congregation.

Nyandarua senator John Methu jokingly responded to the Bishop’s call, saying the government should not implement the proposal as it would deny him the opportunity to have more children.

The diocese of Eldoret was opened in 1983 with the late Alexander Muge being its first presiding bishop.

Governors Jonathan Bii (Uasin Gishu), Stephen Sang (Nandi), Kenneth Lusaka (Bungoma), Wesley Rotich (Elgeyo Marakwet), Transport CS Kipchumba Murkomen and UDA Secretary General Cleophas Malala accompanied the President.

Others were Senators Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), John Methu (Nyandarua), Allan Chesang (Trans Nzoia) and MPs Julius Rutto (Kesses), Njuguna Wawanjiku (Kiambaa), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), David Kiplagat (Soy), Prof Pylis Bartoo (Moiben), Josses Lelmengit (Emgwen), Abraham Kirwa (Mosop), Gideon Maiyo (Keiyo South), Caroline Ngelechei (Elgeyo Marakwet women representative), Janet Sitienei (Turbo) among others.

Also read: Queen Camilla: The mistress that rose to the throne

‘HIV-positive’ househelp in trouble for spitting on employee’s food