Nairobi News

ChillaxHashtagHustleWhat's Hot

I can now retire peacefully, Churchill says after landing plum government job

By Freya Wanjiku February 16th, 2023 2 min read

Media personality and comedian Daniel Ndambuki aka Churchill has announced that he said he can now comfortably retire well satisfied with his rich legacy in the entertainment industry.

Speaking just days after his appointment as the chair of the newly established Creatives Technical Committee, the comedian said creativity in Kenya will now be recognised and the creatives will have money in their pockets.

Churchill also the committee will come up with a formula of sharing content with the world.

Also read: Toto’s fiancé – Who is this man who has won the heart of Bomet Woman Rep?

“We are going to certify some talents and make sure some of them have certification. We credit the years you so have you have value,” he said.

He pointed out that the government has tapped into an industry that had limitations and provided an avenue where creatives can mint money,

“We are going to monetize every single piece of content, and copyright it so that the original owner of kungulu kwangala can get that money even when the Chinese do the song, he can earn,” he explained.

Also read: ‘Come here, go there’ secretary happy to serve, Itumbi says after new appointment

Speaking while unveiling the Talanta Hela initiative, Churchill said the platform will mirror Netflix where Kenyans will pay some amount of money to watch Kenyan content.

“Our application will be a flagship in Africa just like M-Pesa. For you to watch Kenyan shows you pay Sh299 per show. If 10million people watch the shows, then creatives will earn around Sh30 billion,” he observed.

The committee comprises of 10 members, including thespian Jimmi Gathu, actress Catherine Kamau (Kate Actress), musicians Esther Akoth (Akothee), Wahu Kagwi and TikToker Azziad Nasenya. Others members of the committee are Akinyi Odongo, Kizito Makhande, Awadhi Salim Awadhi, Douglas Kipkirui Langat and Susan Ekasiba.

Also read: Itumbi, Radull, Churchill, Akothee among latest government appointees