Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Nakuru RFC clinch national 7s title

By AYUMBA AYODI September 6th, 2015 1 min read

Top Fry Nakuru RFC are the new champions of the National Sevens Series. The Great Rift side again made history by becoming the first club outside Nairobi to win the series despite losing to Kabras Sugar 0-12 in the play-off for third place at Kabeberi Sevens on Sunday at the RFUEA grounds.

Nakuru, who had previously won Dala Sevens and Prinsloo Sevens besides reaching Plate semis at Christie Sevens and the final at Driftwood Sevens, claimed 15 points for their maiden Series victory with a total of 91 points.

In 2013, Nakuru became the first club outside Nairobi to win the Kenya Cup rugby league title before retaining the crown the following year.

Nakuru’s coach Gibson Weru attributed Nakuru’s success to good preparation, discipline, team work and support from sponsors Menengai Oil Refineries.

“After finishing third last season, I told my charges that they can make history like their 15s side by winning the series for the first time,” said Weru.


Mwamba won the Kabeberi Sevens Main Cup after beating Impala Saracens 26-22 in a thrilling final.

Mwamba, who won the Driftwood Sevens, finished second in the series with 81 points, 10 adrift of Nakuru.

In the final, Impala broke the stalemate to lead 12-0 with well-crafted tries from Ian Minjire and former Kenya Sevens international Nato Simiyu.

However, former Kenya Sevens skipper Humphrey Kayange and Michael Agevi scored for Mwamba and Collins Injera converted both tries for a 14-12 lead at the drinks. Mwamba came back energized and never looked back.

Impala stunned Nakuru 12-7 while Mwamba edged out Kabras Sugar 19-0 in the Cup semis. Homeboyz beat KCB 12-10 to lift Plate title.