Nairobi News

ChillaxHustleMust Read

Nick Odhiambo declares his ‘political ambitions’

Renowned radio presenter Nick Odhiambo has said he might reconsider venturing into politics in the next five years.

In a video on TikTok, the Hot 96 breakfast show presenter said this is something he is thinking about.

And if he doesn’t venture into politics, Nick said his other options include being an employer, a lecturer or a preacher.

If he indeed throws his hat in the ring in the 2027 General Elections, Nick will join a long list of media personalities who have dropped the mic for a political seat.

Here are some media personalities who ditched radio or TV for politics:

Gathoni Wamuchomba – Known for her show in Kameme, Wamuchomba quit the media and successfully vied for the Kiambu Women Representative seat in 2017. She successfully used the airwaves and her popular radio show, Muigwithania, to propel her to the seat. She would then contest the Githunguri parliamentary seat in the last year’s general election and emerge victorious.

Mwanaisha Chidzuga – The one time TV news anchor unsuccessfully contested the Matuga Parliamentary seat in last year’s General Elections. Chidzuga, who has worked for KBC, K24, and BBC, vied on President William Ruto’s UDA party ticket. Following the announcement of the results, she made claims of vote rigging.

Jalang’o – In the run up to last year’s poll, radio presenter Phelix Odiwour quit his job and joined ODM party. The comedian then declared that he would vie for Lang’ata parliamentary seat. He successfully won the election after flooring the incumbent Nixon Korir in a tight contest.

Jahmby Koikai – The former presenter of NTV’s the Trend show contested the Dagoretti South parliamentary seat but lost. Jahmby, who ran as an independent candidate, said she would continue working for the people of Dagoretti South regardless.

Tony Kwalanda – The sports host at Switch TV contested the Manda Shivanga Member of County Assembly (MCA) seat in Malava constituency during the last year’s polls but lost to David Kivishi.