Nairobi News

GeneralHashtagHustleMust ReadNewsWhat's Hot

You must honour summons from MCAs, Sakaja tells his CECs

Nairobi County Governor Johnson Sakaja has called upon his new County Executives (CECs) to immediately start working, saying that a lot of work is awaiting them.

While addressing the CECs, the governor said that he has confidence that the team will deliver.

He informed them that they must always work with the County Assembly team and that all the summons from the assembly should be answered.

“We have a lot of confidence in you. The Nairobi MCAs are always our partners. The doors must always be open to them. You must always cooperate with them, and at the same time no letter should go unanswered,” Governor Sakaja said.

Also read: Exclusive: Vijana Barubaru’s reaction to Rayvanny singing their song

The governor asked the MCAs to ensure that their letters to the CECs come in writing, which will be used to show that the issue was raised but not attended to.

He also said that his CECs are representing several communities in Nairobi, and has brought in members with experience.

“We have more than 43 communities but we only have ten positions. It is impossible for everyone to be there but we must change the culture where you think if you are a Luo, you must see a Luo there, or if you’re a Luhya, you must see a Luhya there. As the governor I represent all the religions, all the tribes, and all the genders,” Mr Sakaja said.

The governor said that the election was hectic, and he burned the midnight oil to reach where he is and that the CECs should not waste time but work.

“You get to work immediately.”

Also read: ‘I open my WhatsApp to text him, then I remember…’ cries wife of slain Pakistan Journalist

He also thanked the County Assembly for its cooperation and said Nairobi County Government would achieve its targets through collaboration and continued unity.

The ten CECs

  1. Suzanne Silantoi – Inclusivity, Public Participation and Customer Service
  2. Rosemary Kariuki – Business and Hustler Opportunities
  3. Maureen Njeri – Environment, Water, Food and Agriculture
  4. Dr Anastasia Mutethya Nyalita – Health
  5. Charles Kerich – Finance and Economic Affairs
  6. Michael Gumo – Innovation and Digital Economy
  7. Brian Mulama – Talent, Skills Development and Care
  8. Patrick Mbogo – Mobility and Works
  9. Stephen Gathuita Mwangi – Built Environment and Urban Planning
  10. Ibrahim Auma Nyangoya – Boroughs Administration and Personnel

The swearing-in ceremony come barely an hour after the names of the CECs were unanimously approved by the MCAs.

Also read: EXPOSED: Why Nadia Mukami’s break up with Arrow Bwoy is clout

During the oath of office taking, Nairobi County Attorney Lydia Kwamboka said that the event took place by Section 38 of the County Assembly Act.

The Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition side which is the Majority in the assembly collaborated with the Minority side United Democratic Alliance (UDA) and put aside their political differences and approve the names.

Also, read our top stories today:

Mind of a killer: How man plotted to rape and murder step sister

Trending King! Why Ruto is the most influential African leader on Twitter

How a Nairobi man was drugged and robbed after taking two women to his house

EXCLUSIVE: Babu Owino – I walked out of a police cell into an exam room for my KCSE