Nairobi News

HashtagNewsWhat's Hot

Moses Wetang’ula elected Speaker of the National Assembly

Former Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang’ula is the new Speaker of the National Assembly. Wetang’ula garnered 215 votes former Speaker Kenneth Marende’s 130 votes in the first round of voting, but the later opted out of the second round.

Wetang’ula had been fronted by president-elect Dr William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza Alliance while Marende was Azimio la Umoja – One Kenya Coalition’s candidate.

Mr Wetang’ula was sworn in immediately after being declared the winner by Acting Clerk of the National Assembly Serah Kioko.

Also read: Amason Kingi elected, sworn-in as Speaker of the Senate

Earlier in the day, Dr Ruto had scored another major win after former governor of Kilifi County Amason Kingi was elected Speaker of the Senate. Mr Kingi won the seat after garnering 46 out 66 votes in an exercise that was boycotted by senators allied Azimio la Umoja – One Kenya Coalition.

Azimio Senators said they decided not to participate in the process having raised integrity issues of some of the candidates who were running for the seat.

Mr Kingi has succeeded Ken Lusaka who was elected Governor of Bungoma County in the August 9 General Election. Mr Kingi will be deputised by Meru Senator Mr Kathure Murungi.

Also read: Ken Ng’ondi backed to win Nairobi County Speaker position