Nairobi News


Ruto rewards ex-police spokesperson Charles Owino with State job

By Kevin Cheruiyot September 29th, 2023 2 min read

President William Ruto has appointed former Police Spokesperson Charles Owino as the Chairperson of the Council of Kenya Institute of Mass Communication.

The appointment was announced on Friday in a gazette notice that stated that Mr Owino will serve in that position till October, 2024.

At the same time, the President has revoked the appointment of the appointment of Kathleen Openda as the Council’s chairperson.

Ms Openda was appointed by the retired President Uhuru Kenyatta in 2018 after serving as the director in charge of communication and media at the secretariat team which was behind the campaigns of ODM party leader Raila Odinga in the 2017 election.

Also read: Former NMG journalist Njoki Chege makes media comeback

Mr Owino’s appointment comes three months after he was appointed UDA party coordinator in Siaya County, replacing Dianga Waore who was appointed the chairperson of Lake Region Development Authority chairperson.

Mr Owino is among the leaders from the Nyanza region who have been rewarded with State jobs after decamping to President Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza Alliance.

The President has also appointed Adiel Nyange to be the Chairperson of the Private Security Regulatory Authority up to December, 31, 2024. Nyange’s appointment follows the revocation of Prof Stephen Phares Ng’ang’a’s appointment.

Also read: Governor Anyang’ Nyong’o bags prestigious UN job

At the same time, Sande Ayolo has been appointed to be the Chairperson of the Kenya Yearbook Editorial Board, for three years to replace Kelvin Lunani.

Further, the President has appointed Francis Habara Moroto, Jane Wanjiku Macharia, Habon Billow Farah, Joseph Kimutai Boit, and Rusiana Makasi Mitau to be members of the NEPAD/APRM Kenya Governing Council for three years.

Meanwhile, Interior Cabinet Secretary Prof Kithure Kindiki has appointed Baljit Sokhi, and Pius Chelimo to be members of the Private Security Regulatory Authority for three years.

The Energy Cabinet Secretary Davis Chirchir has appointed Buge Hatibu Wasioya, and Feisal Shariff Ibrahim to be members of the Energy and Petroleum Tribunal for three years.

Also read: MP Ronald Karauri criticised for offering ‘lion’s den’ pastor trip to Maasai Mara